Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Asian History by This encyclopedia provides a record of the history, geography, politics, culture and peoples of Asia. The 3000 signed articles include 1200 biographies.
Call Number: Ref DS31 .E53 1987
Encyclopedia of Islam by This title offers an inside look at the history, terms, and key players of this world religion.In more than 700 A-to-Z entries, ""Encyclopedia of Islam"" provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today. An informative introduction provides readers with an overview of Islam, and a chronology, a detailed bibliography, an index, and 89 black-and-white photographs complete this timely resource.Entries include on: Abbasid Caliphate; Abraham; Akbar; Almsgiving; Anti-Semitism; Arab League; Arabian Nights; Yasir Arafat; Archaeology; Ayatollah; Bahai faith; Bosnia and Herzegovena; Christianity and Islam; Cinema; Dhimmi; Evil eye; Hajj; Hamas; Ibn Battuta; Islam and politics; Malcolm X; Ottoman Dynasty; Salman Rushdie; Slavery; Usama bin Ladin; Women; and, Zamzam.
Call Number: Ref DS35.53 .C36 2009
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World by This unique reference is the first comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world. Placing particular emphasis on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic Worldcontains over 750 articles in four volumes. The focus throughout is on the Islamic dimension of the Muslim experience in recent history, and background articles ground the information in its historical context and ensure continuity. Entries address political and social action as well as formaltexts, and emphasis is placed on the practice and theory of Islam in Muslim societies around the globe. Unlike more limited explorations of Islam, this work looks at Muslim societies in the Arab heartland as well as in South and Southeast Asia, and even in Europe and the Americas. Thus it is aninvaluable resource offering extensive comparative and systematic analyses of Islamic beliefs, institutions, movements, practices, and peoples on an international scale. Topical categories covered include history and geography; schools of thought; religious beliefs; theology and philosophy; mysticism; religious practice, devotionalism, and ritual; religious law; politics; economics; culture and society; and biographies. Alphabetically arranged articles range frombrief 500-word essays to major interpretive and synthetic treatments of topics such as the Islamic state, pilgrimage, law, marriage, and foreign relations. Related entries cover such topics as social and political movements, women, Muslim minorities, human rights, Islam in the West, andinterreligious affairs. Truly multidisciplinary, this work reflects the breadth and depth of contemporary scholarship in Islamic studies, combining the tools of the humanities and social sciences to examine the interrelationship of religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies and to explain the changing realitiesof Muslim life. Designed for easy use by both scholars and students, the work has an index and an extensive system of cross-references that provide easy access to the network of related articles throughout the encyclopedia. Entries are written by Muslim and non-Muslim scholars from around the world. Unique in its focus on the modern Islamic world, this encyclopedia is an invaluable reference for anyone concerned with Islam: scholars and students of many disciplines, government and media analysts who increasingly require an understanding of the Muslim world, and interested lay readers who arebecoming more and more familiar with Islamic politics and culture.
Call Number: Ref DS35.53 .O95 1995
Selected Reference Sources
India Today by Containing almost 250 entries written by scholars from around the world, this two-volume resource provides current, accurate, and useful information on the politics, economics, society, and cultures of India since 1947. * 240 A-Z entries on the social, political, cultural, and economic development of India since 1947 * Contributions from more than 100 distinguished international scholars from five continents * A chronology of major domestic, regional, and world events in and involving India from 1947 to 2010 * A "Guide to Related Topics" to allow readers to trace main themes across related entries * An extensive Selected Bibliography containing multicultural and multidisciplinary materials and scholarship on the growth and development of the Republic of India from 1947 to the present
Call Number: Ref DS428.2 .I535 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-23
Encyclopedia of Africa by The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearlytwo-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship. Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groupsfrom various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism. The Encyclopedia of Africa is sure to become the essential resource in the field.
Call Number: Ref DT3 .E53 2010