Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Hinkle Library Catalog
Historical SUBJECT HEADINGS are generally listed as follows
Place Name - Subdivision - Time Period
Mongolia -- History
Mongolia -- Civilization
Mongolia -- Social life and customs
Searching Culture and Customs of Specific Countries or Peoples
For information about the cultures and customs of specific countries or peoples:
Culture and Customs of Botswana by Botswana's large deposits of diamonds have made it one of the richest African countries on a per capita basis. However, more than wealth, what has made Botswana a model country in southern Africa is its long tradition of democratic rule, respect for ethnic and racial differences, freedom of the press, and governmental programs to support its citizens. Even though Botswana has had its share of problems--including ecological disasters such as drought-- the spirit of its people and their willingness, despite cultural differences, to work together to overcome such setbacks make this country exceptional. General readers will find a wealth of up-to-date information on such topics as the legacy of Christian missionaries, especially the famous David Livingstone, society post-Independence, the unique blend of Christianity and ancestral spiritual practices, the AIDS crisis, initiation rites, community rule by chiefs, polygamy, cattle raising, food and beer, betrothal customs, education, unique games, the integral music and dance, and much more. The authors provide a thorough, one-stop resource for learning about a significant country that has stayed peaceful despite the strife of neighboring South Africa and Angola, for example. Narrative chapters by these insiders cover the land, people, languages, education, economy, history, religion and worldview, literature and media, art and architecture, cuisine and traditional dress, gender roles, marriage, and family, social customs and lifestyle, and music and dance. Photos, a chronology, and a glossary complement the narrative.
Call Number: DT2452 .D46 2006
Culture and Customs of Indonesia by Indonesia comprises more than 17,000 islands stretching on either side of the equator for nearly 4,000 miles and hundreds of ethnic groups with almost 300 languages spoken. This book reveals the remarkable social, religious, and geographical differences that exist from island to island. Because of such variety, Indonesia defies simple categorizations. Europeans have produced most of the written histories of this region, although Indonesians have contributed much. Culture and Customs of Indonesia reveals something of local people's ideas of their identities and pasts as well. Indonesian cultures covered include those of forest-dwelling hunters, rice growers, fisherfolk, village artisans, urban office and factory workers, intellectuals, artists, wealthy industrialists, street vendors, and homeless people. Readers will learn about the amazing range of belief systems, material culture, and arts that enliven Indonesia. Forshee describes the majestic temples, complex poetry and literature, lavish theatrical performances, and splendid visual arts and more that have distinguished Indonesia for centuries and continue into the present. Indonesians are shown to be constantly reinterpreting and refining their cultures in the modern world.
Call Number: DS625 .F64 2006
Culture and Customs of Laos by This all-encompassing volume offers a comprehensive look at the contemporary culture that defines this Southeast Asian country of Laos, examining everything from Buddhist traditions to Laotian cuisine. Coverage includes a brief history of the nation followed by in-depth narrative chapters on religion, literature, visual and performing arts, fashion, gender roles, everyday social customs, and more. Through illustrative descriptions of daily life, students will learn how traditional customs have shaped contemporary life in Laos today. Few other resources provide the same extensive coverage on current culture in Laos. Ideal for high school students as well as general readers, Culture and Customs of Laos is a must-have for all library shelves.
Call Number: DS555.42 .K57 2009
Culture and Customs of Namibia by This book provides an overview of the history, culture, and society of Namibia, a country on which little information in English exists. * Provides a chronology of key events in the history of Namibia * Includes photographs of natural Namibian settings, such as the desert, colonial architecture, unique plant and animal life, and Namibia's cultural life * An interdisciplinary bibliography--drawn from history, politics, gender, law and other relevant fields--provides suggestions for further reading * A glossary contains terms used commonly in contemporary Namibia
Call Number: DT1552 .E38 2011
Culture and Customs of Tanzania by This book provides a fascinating, up-to-date overview of the social, cultural, economic, and political landscapes of Tanzania. * Describes historical events from the late 1800s to the present day * Provides several maps depicting Tanzania's location in Africa, major physical features, administrative units, urban areas, ethnic groups, and population distribution * Contains an interdisciplinary bibliography of sources in the areas of geography, history, anthropology, and popular culture * Includes a glossary of key terms, places, cities, ethnic groups, and personalities
Call Number: DT442.5 .O85 2013
Want to browse the shelves?