Supreme Court Decisions 1803 - 2017: Defining Documents in American History
Human Rights in the United States
This two-volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures. New third edition offers up-to-date data on Guantanamo Detention Centre, immigrant rights, the Torture Bill and many more current event topics. Comprehensive Introduction places the history of human rights in the United States in an international context. Details over 300 human rights terms, ranging from asylum and cultural relativism to hate crimes and torture, with a discussion of the significance of the term, examples, and citations of appropriate documents and court decisions. Provides expanded coverage of over 60 Primary Documents, including conventions, treaties, and protocols related to the most up-to-date international action on ethnic cleansing, freedom of expression and religion, violence against women, and much more. New Historical Timeline Nine Appendices, with additional sources of information A comprehensive Bibliography, to expand research on this interesting topic Comprehensive Index Available in print and ebook formats This comprehensive, timely volume is a must for large public libraries, university libraries and social science departments, along with high school libraries.
The Criminal Justice System, Second Edition by 
The Judicial Branch of Federal Government by 
Legal Systems of the World by 
The Bill of Rights, Second Edition
The Bill of Rights is a comprehensive survey of all aspects of the U.S. Bill of Rights; from its origins to its role in modern American history. Special attention is given to the organic relationship of the Bill of Rights to the original Constitution, its ongoing interpretation and incorporation by the U.S. Supreme Court, and the political and social issues it has spawned. This new edition adds new coverage of recent challenges to and reinterpretations of The Bill of Rights regarding reproductive rights, same-sex marriage, and free expression in a digital age. Essays are divided under four broad headings: Overviews survey the history and significance of the Bill of Rights within the broader contexts of the principles of constitutional law and U.S. legal history. Amendments provide individual coverage of each of the first ten amendments. Issues cover subjects ranging from censorship, civil rights and liberties, due process and freedom of religion, to the right to counsel and Miranda rights. Court Cases offer nearly 300 articles on the individual court cases through which the rights in the Bill of Rights have been defined and extended. It is through these cases that the Supreme Court has provided authoritative interpretations of the Bill of Rights, thereby establishing doctrines and principles of constitutional law. Additional appendices include a glossary, a time line, an annotated bibliography, and a table summarizing the stances on the Bill of Rights taken by every justice who has sat on the Supreme Court, along with the complete texts of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution and its amendments and a comprehensive subject index.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
The U.S. Supreme Court
The U.S. Supreme Court is a comprehensive survey of the history and functions of the institution for which it is named. Although it has only nine unelected members, the Court alone can overturn the actions of every other branch of government, at all levels. There is no other institution quite like the Supreme Court-in the United States or anywhere else in the world.
Historic U.S. Court Cases 1690-1990: An Encyclopedia