Skip to Main Content
Hinkle Library
Research Guides
Contemporary Social Problems Research Guide
Social Problems: Paradigms/Frameworks
Search this Guide
Search
Contemporary Social Problems Research Guide: Social Problems: Paradigms/Frameworks
Social Problems: Paradigms/Frameworks
Articles & Books
Reference & Reserve
Peer Review
APA Citations
APA Style
Hours/Help
Off-Campus
Functionalism/Structural Functionalism
"Functionalism." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
"Sociology, Post-Parsonian American." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
What came after Parson's functionalism/structural functionalism.
Functionalism and Structuralism
Functionalism in Sociology
Systems Theory
Conflict Theory/Social Conflict Theory
Conflict Theory. (2001). In Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale.
"Society." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
See section on "conflict theory;" follow cross references.
Darity, William. "Sociology, Macro" in International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Symbolic Interaction
"Interaction, Symbolic." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
"Symbolic Interaction Theories." Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
"Symbolic Interaction Theory." Encyclopedia of Sociology
Multiple Theories/Paradigms
Darity, William. "Sociology" in International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
See Table of Contents for links to articles on Social Conflict Theory, Symbolic Interactionism and Structural Functionalism.
Lengermann, Patricia, and Gillian Niebrugge. "Sociological Theories." Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
Covers the major paradigms as well as other sociological theories.
Turner, Jonathan H. "Sociological Theory in the 21st Century." 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook.
Covers Functionalism, Conflict Theory, Symbolic Interaction and other sociological theories.
Next:
Articles & Books >>
