Research Guides: COMP 1503 Dr. Gerry Ianovici: Home

Google Search Tips

Search Tips

Use quotation marks around a word or phrase to make it mandatory; a phrase in quotes preserves the order of the words, for example, "student recruitment"
Use site: to limit results by domain, e.g., use site:.edu to restrict results to .edu Web sites; other domains include: .gov, .org, and .mil
Use -site:com to exclude results from the .com domain
Use filetype: to limit results by document type; for example, filetype:pdf finds PDFs. Other file types include doc, xls, and ppt

Accuracy

Does the site misstate or misrepresent facts? does the site contain errors?

Authority

Who created the site and what are their affiliations and credentials?

Bias

Does the site hide the fact that they have a point of view or opinion?

Coverage

How much information is provided? Is there adequate information for claims made?

Currency

When was the site last updated and how new is the information?

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals across a broad array of subjects. A strong general database.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals on all aspects of business.
ERIC (through EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides sources in education, including articles, reports, and lesson plans.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals across a broad array of subjects. A strong general database.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides reports, data, and inforgraphics across a range of topics. Oriented towards business analysis.