Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Articles: General
DOAJ - Directory of open access journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals
Established in 2009 to comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, JURN expanded in scope to cover selected university fulltext repositories and many additional ejournals in science, biomedical, business and law and over 600 ejournals on aspects of the natural world.
Open Access Articles - Education & Social Sciences
AHERO: African Higher Education Research Online
AHERO is an open access archive of texts that focus on the study, practice and governance of higher education in Africa. The collection includes research reports, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, working papers, booklets, and policy documents.
ALT (Association for Learning Technology) Open Access Repository
A key issue for the Learning Design sector is the skills and knowledge of new entrants to a rapidly growing professional body. In order to be effective, a resource base for such staff development requires frameworks both to support practice and for professional accreditation. This project aims to provide a resource base and supporting technologies to ensure effective support for e-learning professionals.
eScholarship (University of California)
eScholarship provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide. Powered by the California Digital Library.
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here...As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.
SSRN: Social Sciences Research Network
SSRN's objective is to provide worldwide distribution of research to authors and their readers and to facilitate communication among them at the lowest possible cost. We allow authors to upload papers without charge, and any paper an author uploads to SSRN is downloadable for free, worldwide.
Open Access Articles - Humanities
ART-Dok is the full-text server of the Virtual Library for Art, arthistoricum.net and is made available by Heidelberg University Library. It offers members of the academic community worldwide the opportunity to publish their texts in electronic format on the internet at no charge.
Digital Humanities Now
Digital Humanities Now showcases the scholarship and news of interest to the digital humanities community through a process of aggregation, discovery, curation, and review. Digital Humanities Now also is an experiment in ways to identify, evaluate, and distribute scholarship on the open web through a weekly publication and the quarterly Journal of Digital Humanities.
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloguing.
Hprints is an Open Access repository for scholarly manuscripts from the Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences openly available to the widest possible academic audience.
Hprints is a tool for researchers to share their scholarly documents. Scholars can upload full-text research material such as articles, papers, conference papers, book chapters etc. The content of the posted material should be comparable to that of a scientific paper that a scholar could submit for publication e.g. in a peer-reviewed academic journal.
Through IssueLab, the Foundation Center is working to more effectively gather, index, and share the collective intelligence of the social sector. We provide free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems.
Open Humanities Press
Open Humanities Press journals are leading open access publications in critical and cultural theory. All have been through a rigorous selection process by OHP's Editorial Oversight Group which considers a journal's editorial mission and standards, its contribution to and ability to shape contemporary critical debates, its fit with OHP's intellectual and international scope, as well as its promotion of a diversity of scholars and scholarly practices.
Open Library of the Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). We are funded by an international consortium of libraries who have joined us in our mission to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future.
Propylaeum-DOK - Digital Repository Classical Studies...offers members of the academic community worldwide the opportunity to publish their texts in electronic format on the internet at no charge. All kinds of publications (like monographs, articles, lectures) in the fields of Classical Studies can be stored on "Propylaeum-DOK".
Open Access Articles - Sciences
Open access to 872,445 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry (BJOC)
The Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry is an international, peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes research articles on all aspects of organic chemistry. The content is freely accessible online and is publicly archived.
BioMed Central publishes over 250 peer-reviewed open access journals...[A]ll the research papers published in any BioMed Central journal are free for anyone to view, download, and further disseminate in full text or PDF format.
Chemistry Central currently publishes 4 [open access] journals, including Chemistry Central Journal which is split into eight editorial sections covering the whole of chemistry.
Europe PubMed Central
Europe PMC is based on PubMed Central (PMC), developed at the NCBI in the USA and is part of a network of PMC International (PMCI) repositories that also includes PMC Canada. It is supported by 20 funders of life sciences and biomedical research, including charities and government organisations across Europe, led by the Wellcome Trust.
Nucleic Acids Research
Nucleic Acids Research (NAR) publishes the results of leading edge research into physical, chemical, biochemical and biological aspects of nucleic acids and proteins involved in nucleic acid metabolism and/or interactions. This journal is open access.
PeerJ is an Open Access publisher of scholarly articles. We aim to drive the costs of publishing down, while improving the overall publishing experience, and providing authors with a publication venue suitable for the 21st Century. Our tag line is: "Your Peers, Your Science. Academic Publishing Is Evolving" and we are committed to improving the process of scholarly publishing.
Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Close to 20 journals are available open access, many more by subscription.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
All PLOS content is Open Access...PLOS authors publish under the Creative Commons Attribution License. Anyone may copy, distribute, or reuse these articles for any purpose, as long as the author and original source are properly cited.
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.3 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
Wiley Open Access
Wiley Open Access journals are supported by a network of authoritative journals and societies as well as internationally renowned editorial board members. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. Wiley Open Access publishes a number of online journals across biological, chemical and health sciences.