Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Books
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Currently it includes over 1500 Academic peer-reviewed books from more than 50 publishers.
DPLA: Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others. Users can also explore digital exhibitions curated by the DPLA’s content partners and staff.
The Free Library
The Free Library offers free, full-text versions of classic literary works.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
ibiblio: The Public Library's Digital Archive
Home to one of the largest “collections of collections” on the Internet, ibiblio.org is an online public library with freely available software and information, for topics such as music, literature, art, history, science, politics, and cultural studies.
Internet Archive Text Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. Try the archive's site OpenLibrary for an interface to the published books on archive.org and links to other online book collections. This collection is open to the community for the contribution of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses.
OAPEN: Open Access Publishing inEuropean Networks
OAPEN offers publishers, research institutes and libraries effective new ways of disseminating scholarly work. We have developed a new publishing model to help you finance and produce monographs in Open Access and, most importantly, we have founded the OAPEN Library, a publishing platform designed to give global impact to peer-reviewed research from across Europe. Our members have digital publishing programmes, make use of digital repositories, publish in different European languages, command a worldwide distribution network (including the US), and work closely with university libraries. All titles available through the OAPEN Library have been subject to a stringent peer-review process.
The Online Books Page
Listing over 3 million free books on the Web
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.
Perseus Digital Library
Perseus is a non-profit enterprise, located in the Department of the Classics, Tufts University. "Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond. "
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.