Skip to main content Banner Image

Library Web Page: Local History, Archives, ASC Authors

Local History Resouces

Jean B. Lang Western New York Historical Collection has been transferred to Alfred University's Herrick Library Special Collections.  For more information about the collection contact Laurie McFadden mcfadden@alfred.edu, or call: 607-871-2385.

For information about local history holdings at Alfred State College contact: Joe Petrick petricja@alfredstate.edu or call 607-587-4313.

 

The Hinkle Library at Alfred State has retained the following:

  • Books/audiovisual materials on Western NY counties, towns, and villages:  use the library's online catalog to locate these sources.
     
  • Newspapers:
    •  ​Alfred Sun is available from 1884 - 1970 in microfilm format, and from 1973--date in hard copy. Some indexing is available. For an index to personal names in the Alfred Sun, consult: Hist AI 21 A47 1973-1987.
    • The Patriot (Cuba, NY) is available from October 1972 - June 8, 1977.
       
  • Vertical Files:  Material pertaining to Alfred State College is located in the College Archives.
     
  • Genealogy Materials: Most genealogical materials have been transferred to the Allegany County Historical Society in Andover, NY.  

College Archives

The College Archives are a collection of records pertaining to college history, governance, and the college's role within the SUNY system. Partial holdings include:

  • inside Hinkle LibraryGreek Life interactive guide
  • Alfred State College catalogs, 1909-
  • Statonian yearbooks, 1954-
    • Call for yearbooks! The library is in need of extra copies of early yearbooks

    • Kanakadea (1928); Argosy (1939, 1941, 1942, 1943); Statonian (1954, 1955, 1956)

    • Contact Amie Acton: actonae@alfredstate.edu, 607-587-4312

  • Student directory and handbooks, 1951-
  • Tor Echo, v. 1- 1953/54-
  • Faculty/Staff directory, listings, 1909- 2012
  • Faculty Handbooks, 1948-
  • Departmental Annual Reports, 1953-
  • Faculty Senate Meeting minutes, January 1976-
  • Faculty Facts, 1955-1994/95
  • Commencement programs and Committee minutes, 1969-
  • College Council meeting minutes, 1953-
  • SUNY Fauclty Senate meeting minutes, 1953-
  • Ephemeral unbound materials pertaining to college-related activities and organizations. Subjects include, but are not limited to:
    • Faculty Wives (later AOW) Club
    • Cultural and sports activities
    • Paul Orvis speeches
    • Survey of D.S. Burdick lands (1951)
    • Miscellaneous photographs

Archives are located in lower level of the Library. Access is available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Contact Joseph Petrick for more information